The 70th Annual MCEA Conference will be held January 20-23, 2015 at Cragun’s Resort and Hotel on Gull Lake in Brainerd, MN.  The schedule of events and other conference information is contained in the Conference Brochure.

Full-Conference Attendees
MCEA members, other county staff, and MnDOT partners can register for the conference using the following links.  (Registration with both Craguns and the University of Minnesota is required.)

Craguns:  Full Conference Registration Form
University of Minnesota:  Register online

Industry Friends 
Industry Friends, please follow the link to view your Banquet Invitation to be held on opening night of the conference.  Registration with Craguns is also required using the Banquet Night Registration Form.

Minnesota’s Work Zone Speed Limit Statute, M.S. 169.14, subdivision 5d, was revised during the past legislative session.  The new language takes effect on August 1, 2014.  Following is a link to the new language.

New Work Zone Speed Limit Statute (M.S. 169.14, subdivision 5d)

2013 Minnesota County Engineer of the Year

The 2013 Minnesota County Engineer of the Year Award was presented to Freeborn County Engineer Sue Miller by Faribault County Engineer John McDonald.


Friend of Minnesota Counties Award

Friend of Minnesota Counties Awards were presented to Kandiyohi Commissioner Harlan Madsen and MnDOT State Aid Special Projects Engineer Rick Kjonaas.  Shown below is Otter Tail County Engineer Rick West presenting the award to Rick Kjonaas.


County Highway Safety Award

The County Highway Safety Award was presented to Nobles County.  Shown below is Chippewa/Lac qui Parle County Engineer Steve Kubista presenting the award to Nobles County Engineer Stephen Schnieder.


Special Project of the Year Award

The Special Project of the Year Award was presented to Dakota County for the CSAH 23(Cedar Avenue)/Metro Red Line Transitway Project.  Shown below (left to right) are Jim Barton, Joe Morneau, Mark Krebsbach, Kristi Sebastian, Kristine Elwood, Ross Beckwith, and Tom Anton, all from Dakota County.


County Project of the Year Award

The County Project of the Year Award was presented to St. Louis County for their CSAH 91 (Haines Road) project.  Shown below is Hubbard County Engineer Dave Olsonawski presenting the award to St. Louis County Engineer James Foldesi.


Anoka Co Project of Year 2013

The 2012 MCEA Project Of The Year went to Anoka County for the Design/Build construction of County State Aid Highway 14. 

Presenting the award was Don Theisen, Washington County (far left).  Accepting the award for Anoka County was Curt Kobilarcsik, Engineering Program Manager (2nd from left), Doug Fischer, County Engineer (2nd from right), and Andrew Witter, Assistant County Engineer (far right).  Also present was Charlie Zelle, MnDOT Commissioner (center).  


Special Project 2013

Koochiching County received a Special Project Of The Year award for the County State Aid Highway 155 construction in International Falls.

Presenting the award was Dave Enblom, Cass County (right).  Accepting the award was Doug Grindall, Koochiching County Engineer (left).


News Archive